crossing the finish line

I’m not perfect…but I’m me.

So first, I must admit that I didn’t post anything yesterday.  It hit about 2am on Sunday morning that I did do a blog post.  First I thought about quickly writing something and back-dating it.  Then something truly oblivious but completely true hit me…I’m not perfect.

Yes, this news shocked me at first.  What?  I’m not perfect.  I don’t understand how this can be.  I mean, I’m Michelle.  I have to be perfect…right?? Nope, I don’t have to be anything other than me!

Ok.  Of course, I know that I’m not perfect, but sometimes I put so much pressure on myself to be everything for everyone that I forget that basic fact: I’m not perfect.

While my intention is always to do my best, sometimes I will (and have) fallen short.  I want to be the best friend, daughter, godmother, etc to all those that I love.  Yet, I have, in the past and probably in the future, made mistakes.  I will say the wrong thing, do the wrong thing, and just generally screw up. All I can do is try very hard to make those moments as few as possible and apologize when I do mess up.

I say all this to let myself off the hook about missing the blog post.  It wasn’t great news that I missed it, but it isn’t the end of world that I did.  Learning to be kinder to myself is part of this journey that I am.  As Pink sings in her song, F*&k Perfect, “make the voices in your head like you instead.”  If anyone should like you, it’s the voices inside your own head, right??

2 comments on “I’m not perfect…but I’m me.

  1. Jamie
    19/02/2012

    Love this Michelle. You are so right. Thanks for sharing something that’s hard to remember at times…. the fact that we are already F*ing Perfect! xo~Jamie

  2. Margo Frazier
    19/02/2012

    Awesome post. Thanks for writing so eloquently about me.
    Hugs Margo

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 19/02/2012 by in Uncategorized.

Calendar

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Older ramblings

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

