crossing the finish line

Stranger Danger

Why can’t we play to my strengths please?

Right now we’re in the midst of promoting our play, The Hair Chronicles.  This is a hard, near impossible, task for me.  Now, I believe strongly that we have written a beautiful story that women from all backgrounds can relate to and enjoy.  However, it goes it gets my very nature to promote myself.  It’s not that I don’t share my life with others, but I don’t do a good job being my own cheerleader….and that’s with my friends.  With strangers it’s even harder for me to “sell” myself. I’m still haunted by the Stranger Danger videos from the 1980s.

 Anyway, this whole process causes me great anxiety.  I mean, I’m having full panic attacks.  Today is the second day this week that I have just wanted to throw in the towel and hide because the thought of having to go out to talk to strangers leaves me filled with tears, unable to breathe and running back to bed.  I’m trying to find the strength of my mother who could talk to anyone.  I wish that she was here right now.  She would know exactly what to tell me to get me through this situation.  Instead, I’m hiding in my bed and praying for divine intervention.  Keep your fingers crossed for me.
4 comments on “Stranger Danger

  1. Eva
    21/06/2012

    In general, women are not trained to promote ourselves. It takes a lot of courage to toot our own horns, and it is so easy to remain in our comfort zone(s).

    Start small, go to some networking events. Go with a friend so you know someone there already. And, when all else fails: fake it ’til you make it. (I hate speaking in front of people and it’s now my job… it really does work.)

  2. Erika
    21/06/2012

    Definitely fake it till you make it. And remember they are just people too and if they don’t like what you have to say, who the hell cares? Imagine the worst that can happen (realistically). It’s nothing you can’t handle … or immediately disregard and move on from. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 21/06/2012 by in Life and tagged , , , , .

Calendar

Older ramblings

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

