crossing the finish line

Words of Wisdom

“What another person thinks of you is never of your business.” — My dad

Whenever I comment that I am affected about what someone else thinks about me, my dad says this statement.  The first time I heard it, I didn’t understand it.  Later, it became clearer, and I eventually realized that he was right.

One of the greatest freedoms we have as Americans is freedom of speech, which to me also means freedom of thought.  People are allowed to think or believe whatever they want as long as they don’t hurt anyone.  I have always believed that when it comes to political or religious beliefs.

Yet I struggle with applying this freedom to what people think of me.  It’s a shame because this struggle holds me back in my life.  I spend too much time worrying what other people think about my life and the choices that I make.  It’s a complete waste of valuable time and energy.

So people, go ahead and think whatever you want of my life and the choices that I make.  I’ll stay out of your head.  There’s too much chaos going on in my head.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 29/07/2012 by in Life and tagged , , .

Calendar

Older ramblings

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

