crossing the finish line

National Cake Day

It’s National Cake Day!!

This is one of those random holidays that someone mentions on Facebook. Yet when my friend posted about it, I just started thinking about my mom. She was the queen of cakes; she was queen of the kitchen in our family. While I haven’t inherited all of her kitchen skills, I always feel closer to her when I’m baking especially since I usually use her old Kitchen Aid stand mixer.

Today I tackled a classic bundt cake, Lady Bird Lemon Bundt Cake, named for Lady Bird Johnson. It turned out pretty yummy too. The inside is nice and moist, and there’s a wonderful natural lemon taste to it.  Here are some pictures…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Calendar

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Older ramblings

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

