crossing the finish line

Labels

Yesterday I posted a picture of a box and bag from Tiffany’s. In retrospect, I realized that it was a bit of an odd choice after spending a post talking about money. Yet, in my head, the box and bag made me think of the movie Breakfast at Tiffany’s, one of my most favorite films.

Nothing very bad could happen to you there. If I could find a real-life place that’d make me feel like Tiffany’s, then – then I’d buy some furniture and give the cat a name!

One of my favorite things about the movie is the shifting labels. Holly Golightly shifts her identity as often as she changes clothes. How people label her is based on their own perspective of her and their relationship. Labels are somewhat meaningless for many of the characters. The label of wife does not stop Emily Eustane Failenson from having an affair with Paul Varjack. It’s interesting how labels shift and change and affect how characters feel about themselves.

Labels can be powerful and useful for some people. I am one of those people. Labels help me to understand what expectations people have for me. It gives me a better sense of what I can expect from another people. I like labels in a relationship.

However I’m quickly learning that I don’t always get what I want. I don’t always get to see the big picture, and instead I must faith in the small pieces of the picture. It’s like putting together a puzzle without a full picture; you have to put together small chunks at a time. Slowly over time, the larger picture will be revealed to you. This is why I don’t do puzzles.

So tonight’s picture is a mosaic of unlabeled food pictures. Enjoy!

20130415-000153.jpg

Leave a Reply

Calendar

Older ramblings

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

