crossing the finish line

I will survive

Week One is done!

WOW, I’m tired.  I completely underestimated how much time I would need for school. Oops.  The next week or so should be a bit of challenge as I work through previous commitments and my new schedule. However, I will survive.

The first week of class was filled with the usual orientation information that is typical for any new school or job. I learned that I need to be school about 30-45 minutes earlier than I expected.  Additionally I might be at school for 15-45 minutes after class ends.  Again, I will survive. 

During our first week, we made several items –chocolate chip cookies, choux pieces and Profiteroles Glaces.  Making these items made me feel both confident and overwhelmed.  I began making chocolate chip cookies when I was about 14 years old, so that was a breeze.  While we used a different recipe, the entire activity confirmed my decision to go back to school.  Then we made Pate a Choux. Making profiteroles and eclairs challenged me –piping, filling and glazing.  It wasn’t perfect work, but I will survive.  

This entire experience will challenge me in ways that I could not imagine, but I’m ok with that.  This year is about preparation for me.  I am taking the steps that I need to take to move my life forward.  I will survive.

ImageImageImage

2 comments on “I will survive

  1. michaelawanders
    30/09/2013

    This is great! I have been looking at different blogs of students in culinary school (as I am thinking about starting that journey after I graduate from university), and one I just read was pretty discouraged about spending more time sitting in a classroom than cooking. What school do you go to, and do you have almost all time hands-on?

    • I’m attending L’Academie de Cuisine, and I’m loving it. The early morning are a bit of a challenge, but our days are a blend of lecture and hands-on production. A typical day includes about an hour of lecture followed by hands-on. It’s great. I’ll try to share as much as I can about my experience to help you make the right choice for yourself.

Leave a Reply

Calendar

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Older ramblings

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

